Fitness with a baby: MoMenTum

24 May

I’m joining in with the lovely MoMenTum girls in an effort to shift my baby weight. My quest isn’t so much about shifting the weight – though I’m still a disappointing 13 Ibs heavier than I once was – but more about getting back some kind of fitness. I’ve stepped into the MoMenTum gang on a hard week as there is no theme, so I thought I’d write about my struggles getting momentum and motivation back after the birth of lil’ Toby.

Throughout my pregnancy I found exercise harder and harder – which I guess is normal. By the end, I’d given up and having gone through the arduous task of pushing another human being out of you, I couldn’t be bothered to even contemplate exercise. I was once a huge endorphin junky, but that addiction had been kicked and replaced with chocolate and an overwhelming desire to sit on the sofa when Toby was running me ragged.

I was told that breastfeeding would see me fight off the extra pounds gained during pregnancy. I think that might be an exageration… the weight did not fall off. If anything, I gained as I had the excuse of sustaining another life through my produce. A few months after Toby’s birth I plodded round Blenheim Triathlon. It was an embarrassing pace and I probably should have pulled out as I had done NO training. The horrific pain I went through left me with a fear of exercise. Over the summer I can list the runs and cycles I did and avoided swimming due to my horrid shape. I consistently used Toby as my excuse to avoid the sweat and tears of exercise – things I once so loved.

This year, I decided was going to be the year I get fit again. Things are on track. I’ve been doing a handful of runs each week (though missed one this morning due to work) and have upped the activity on the bike with a couple of spinning sessions a week and a long bike each weekend. The bike is by far my favourite and I managed a 60 mile sportive (road bike race – race being used lightly here) two weekend’s ago and a hilly 53 miles during The King of the Downs sportive. It’s amazing how quickly you can get back into things. The first ride was hard. It really hurt and I was ridiculously slow, but while last weekend’s 53 miler started out slow and hard, by the end I was on fire and I suddenly remembered what it was like to push myself as hard as possible. I’m not sure how long the last 15 miles took my friend and I, but we paced it and I LOVED it.

So that’s the story of my battle so far. Exercise has never been a big problem to me and I think I’ve found my refound my mojo. It’s an amazing feeling and definitely worth remembering that there is hope after pregnancy and early motherhood. You just need give yourself a chance. Eating is a whole other story. Perhaps next time I’ll share my disgusting eating habits….

7 Responses to “Fitness with a baby: MoMenTum”

  1. would like to be a yummy mummy May 24, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    Welcome to MoMenTum, great to have you on board.

    Wow it sounds as though you are doing pretty good with all that running, spinning and cycling. I am impressed and pleased for you that you have got your mojo back. I think with breastfeeding I did lose weight at first but when she started to reduce feeds I didn’t realise I couldn’t keep eating the way I was. The weight started creeping back on! Looking forward to hearing about your eating habits next time hee hee 🙂

  2. Liska May 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Great entry post, love it. x

  3. Claire May 24, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Hey! Welcome to the club! I have massive respect for anyone that can run. I can barely jog as my lungs feel like they are collapsing. I am ditching dieting and concentrating on the exercise in an attempt to shift some weight. I look forward to hearing your dieting habits. x

  4. Mummy and the Beastie May 25, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I have just realised I haven’t properly said hello. I have had a really bad day where I haven’t commented on posts, very rude of me!

    It’s great to have you in the group, it’s lovely how we are gradually recruiting more like minded people! I know the feeling with breastfeeding, some women just go all svelte afterwards, I did lose some but it just stopped. The effect on my stomach was not as I hoped! However I think if I hadn’t breast fed I would have struggled a lot more. I say struggled, I don’t really diet so it just gradually fell off (except the tum!). Hence the reason I am in it with you guys 🙂 x

    • Claire May 26, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      Hello back. I’m pleased to be part of the MoMenTum team. Your probably right with the breastfeeding and my main motivation wasn’t to lose weight with it, but A happy bonus. However, it sadly didn’t have the side effects I was promised :). Look forward to more Monday’s and meeting you at cybermummy! X

  5. Working London mummy May 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Welcome to the group. You have a higher baseline state than me but we all have our personal targets and am sure you will achieve yours!

  6. Multiple Mummy May 27, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    This is fantastic that you are joining us! I have been so busy this week(and next) but hopefully I can start again in June and be fully participating! 13lb won’t take you long I promise. Do you drink enough in the day? The brain cannot determine thirst and mistakes it for hungar so could be a good idea to try a drink first. x

Leave a Reply

