My brown bag

28 Jun

The writing workshop theme over at Sleep is for the weaks blog is ‘Personality catwalk’. Here’s my attempt:

I’m not a handbag kind of girl. Give me a rucksack any day of the week, but there are just some days that call for a handbag. I’ve only really got one that I use (though during attempts to be more feminine, I’ve collected a few). It is a bag made from lots of brown leather patches. My dad bought it for a birthday one year and I loved it instantly.

It’s been through some of the hardest moments with me (though it didn’t make it to the hospital when I had Toby). It’s sat in interviews and watched me stutter. It’s been in new business pitches and watched me succeed. It’s been to yummy restaurants and it’ll definitely make an appearance at Cybermummy. I will continue to take it to important events (when I cant get away with a rucksack) and I hope we see in many more successes – and not failures – together.

The brown leather is rather worn and quite shabby in places; probably a lot like me. If I had the time to get it treated it would probably look a thousand times better; probably a lot like me with make-up. Its leather patches are all just slightly different And it’s two straps allow me to revert to my preferred bag of choice – a rucksack – when cycling through london to meetings.

What lurks inside is a great analogy for my life. It is utter chaos and (while Tom, my partner would disagree) what makes up this chaos is vitally important and represents every aspect of my being. There’s always a nappy, baby wipes and a small toy or two. That’s the mum in me. There’s my book of to-do, which is the mum, the house partner and the career girl in me. There’s usually an iPad or laptop (not to be confused as a toy as Toby often does). There’s always half a dozen pens, which shows the paranoid side of me – what if they all were to run out of ink?! There’s old sweet wrappers – I have a terrible sweet tooth and my purse (which holds a whole host of other rubbish). There’s lipgloss and mascara, which is usually used en route and shows the disorganized side to me. And of course my phone, of which I have a serious addiction and helps me navigate my way – sometimes unsuccessfully – through life.

I love this bag and everything it represents, even if its contents can become a little overwhelming at times.

3 Responses to “My brown bag”

  1. Five Go Blogging July 2, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Oh the stories your bag could tell! Just a hint of a few there but I bet there are some juicy ones!

  2. Josie July 4, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    I love a good handbag. There was a meme doing the rounds a while ago asking people to empty their handbags and blog what they found, it was brilliant, and you’re right, says such a lot about people’s personality. Good choice :-)

  3. workinglondonmummy August 4, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    he he, your bag sounds like mine – serving many purposes. My daughter loves rifling through mine so its contents have been edited down somewhat. iPAD is a toy Claire! (there is a fab ebook called Fierce Grey Mouse which my daughter loves – I recommend it as my daughter adores it as v interactive x) must catch up some time x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

